Mmmmmmmmm, Waffles.

Time for a tasty breakfast

As a family with a food allergic child, we have learned to make some sacrifices.  My son has life threatening allergies to peanuts, tree nuts and eggs.  We have become very accustomed to substitutions, modifications and creative cooking.  Eggs can sure be a toughy, they serve so many purposes in cooking!  Over the past few years I have learned to make some pretty incredible egg-free edibles, from cookies to cakes, breads to baked chicken.  One thing I have not been able to master is the an egg-free waffle.  I tried all of the substitutes I could think of. They were pretty good at times,  sometimes nearly perfect after a crisping up in the toaster oven, but I just couldn’t get that light, crisp waffely goodness we remembered.

Then a few months ago our allergist suggested we do an egg challenge.  We were given a formula, commonly called a “recipe” by the rest of us, for banana muffins and told to return to the office muffins in hand.  The challenge went beautifully!  My son, Wilson, ate an entire muffin with no reaction.  Our allergist told us to start feeding him baked eggs daily; he could have 1/3 of an egg per serving (or less) baked at 350 for a minimum of 20 minutes.  I began making cakes and breads constantly, to the thrill of my son and the demise of my diet.  Last weekend, as I set out to make our traditional Saturday morning breakfast of bacon and waffles, so very very healthy, I thought perhaps it was time to try.  Things had been going very well with the baked eggs, and while waffles were not cooked for 20 minutes the portion of egg was so small, I thought it was worth the risk.

With epi-pen, Benadryl and nebulizer ready I pulled out my trusty yellow Gourmet cookbook and made some waffles.  I added a touch of cinnamon, nutmeg, sugar and vanilla to the batter and Oh My, …..Heaven.  They were perfectly light, crisp, delicious and best of all resulted in NO REACTION!  My son who never finishes one, asked for seconds.  We froze the extras and enjoyed them throughout the week with cut up fresh strawberries and a touch of whipped cream.

Oh, sweet waffle, welcome back to breakfast!

Tags: ,

About NinaLemon

I am a stay at home mom to two beautiful boys, I enjoy quilting, crafting and cooking. Lots of cooking from scratch and experimentation for health and for the safety of my peanut, tree nut and egg allergic son.

3 responses to “Mmmmmmmmm, Waffles.”

  1. jennifer says :

    Wow, this great! How can one subscribe to your feed?

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Ellie More Or Less

Just another blog about weight loss

No 'FRIES' for 365

- My Journey: A Blog About Fitness, Nutrition, & Overall Health -

Playful and hungry

Delicious food - a playful approach!

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

my sister's pantry

Eat food... real food

Madame Jelly Belly

Weight loss (or lack thereof), good food, not so good food, recipes, fitness, dreams (about chocolate and chocolate coated goods), tips, experiences, photography, laughter, pain, health discussions, and student life.

petit4chocolatier

food, writing, life, and other things in-between

My ups & many downs in my weight loss journey!

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

L-Jay Health

Nutrition and Fitness

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

