Banana Oatmeal Muffins

I swear my 3 y/o asks me to buy bananas just so I will make these muffins. It must be his plan because each time I buy a bunch he eats ONE and the rest sit until they are threatening to become a fruit fly colonization zone. This morning I spied one such pile of bananas on my counter, I picked them up to inspect and they fell apart in my hands: perfect for muffins!

These bananas are just begging to become muffins

As I mentioned in my previous post, we are working on adding baked egg to my son’s diet. You can only make so many cakes and muffins before starting to question yourself a bit. Questions like, is feeding my child a boat load of sugar really worth helping him overcome his egg allergy? With that in mind, I am constantly on the lookout for healthy recipes I can use for him. I came across these banana muffins , I made a few tweaks and then made a pumpkin recipe using the same idea. We pretty much always have these muffins in the house.

These can be gluten free *if* you purchase the correct oats, most oats are coated in flour to prevent sticking, however there are some varieties which are gluten free. You will use some of the oats whole and some to make oat flour; I have a cheapo Oster stick blender and it does the job just fine!

This recipe does use 3 bowls, something I would typically not be thrilled by (who needs more dishes with kids in the house!?!) but these muffins really are worth it!

Now on to the show, preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

In bowl #1 combine and let soak for about 10 minutes:

1 1/4 cup rolled oats (not instant)
1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
2/3 cup milk

This should soak for about 10 minutes, never a problem in my house since baking is generally interrupted by infants scaling gates and toddlers needing to use the potty.

After the kids allow you back in the kitchen, combine in bowl #2:

1 1/2 cup oat flour – you can make oat four by processing about 2 cups of rolled oats in your food processor or blender
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda

Bowl #3 is a fun one and will have little volunteers climbing your legs to help:

mash 4 average size bananas, and add
1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
1 egg, slightly beaten
1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Add the banana mixture to the soaking oats and combine, next add the dry ingredients and combine. Sometimes I toss a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips in for a little extra fun. Scoop the batter into 24 prepared muffin tins and bake at 400 degrees for 12 minutes.

These muffins are super moist! I make them small because that is the size my kids like. Each muffin has about 130 calories (with the chocolate chips), so as an adult 2 (or 3) would be just fine for breakfast!

Calories: 131, Carbs: 18.6g (Fiber: 2g, Sugars 8.1g), Fat: 5.7g (Saturated: 3.8g), Cholesterol: 9.6g, Protein: 2.9g, Sodium: 97.9mg, Potassium: 91.9mg

Tags: , , , , ,

About NinaLemon

I am a stay at home mom to two beautiful boys, I enjoy quilting, crafting and cooking. Lots of cooking from scratch and experimentation for health and for the safety of my peanut, tree nut and egg allergic son.

3 responses to “Banana Oatmeal Muffins”

  1. gemsp says :

    Haha I love banana muffins.. Same thing happens in my house my daughter and O/H nag me to buy banana’s then they eat one and the others just sit there! Xx

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin Oatmeal Muffins | NinaLemon - August 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Ellie More Or Less

Just another blog about weight loss

No 'FRIES' for 365

- My Journey: A Blog About Fitness, Nutrition, & Overall Health -

Playful and hungry

Delicious food - a playful approach!

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

my sister's pantry

Eat food... real food

Madame Jelly Belly

Weight loss (or lack thereof), good food, not so good food, recipes, fitness, dreams (about chocolate and chocolate coated goods), tips, experiences, photography, laughter, pain, health discussions, and student life.

petit4chocolatier

food, writing, life, and other things in-between

My ups & many downs in my weight loss journey!

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

L-Jay Health

Nutrition and Fitness

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

