Thai Inspired Warm Broccoli Salad, Peanut Allergy Friendly :)

First off, I apologize for the crappy cell phone pics; I took one picture with my real camera and the battery died.  Thankfully my husband is an Eagle Scout because I was a Brownie drop-out and am often hopelessly unprepared.

I have been craving Thai food forever, at least it feels like forever!  Two years ago my son, Wilson,  had an anaphylactic reaction after his first  peanut exposure, needless to say there have been no peanut products in our lives since.  Since Thai uses so much peanut, it also had been dropped from our menu.  Recently, the craving has been getting stronger.  This morning I went out into our garden and was greeted by an enormous head of broccoli, some beautiful peppers and tons of sweet cherry tomatoes.  Looking at those gorgeous veggies, I decided I was having Thai for lunch!

This morning’s haul!

I needed to make a a sauce as satisfying as that slightly spicy peanut sauce I love, but also safe for our household.  We recently found out that Wilson’s tree nut allergies are improving; at this point he is only allergic to cashews and pistachios – woohoo!  Our allergist also told us to start adding the other tree nuts into his diet to test the waters (rather terrifying thing to say to a Mom who saw her 18 months old have an anaphylactic reaction!).  I went in search of a nut butter we could use and found nearly all are made in facilities with peanuts or cashews, and then I found Barney Butter! Barney Butter is processed in a facility that only uses almonds, making it is safe for us!

To make the sauce, in the bowl of my stick blender/processor, I combined :

2 Tablespoons Almond Butter
1 Tablespoon brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (it wasn’t very spicy, I’ll do more next time)
The juice of 1 lime (about 1.5 tablespoons)
1 tablespoon hot water
1 tablespoon low sodium soy sauce
1.5 tablespoons sesame oil

Pulse that until nicely combined

The almond butter sauce

Next I cut up:

the large head of broccoli (about 8 cups)
2 peppers, thinly sliced (I had one red and one green from the garden)
1 cup red onion, thinly sliced

Heat 3 tablespoons of coconut oil in a large skillet – I love the smell of coconut oil – YUM!

add 4 cloves of garlic minced, saute for about 30 seconds before adding the veggies.

Saute the veggies until tender-crisp and then add

1 cup of cherry tomatoes, halved

Let the tomatoes heat through and get a little soft before transferring all of the veggies to a large bowl and tossing with the almond butter sauce.

ENJOY!

Thai Inspired Warm Broccoli Salad for the peanut allergic!

The recipe makes about 3 servings at 317 calories, 23g of carbs, 25g of fat and 4g of protein, 3g of fiber and 202mg of sodium.  This is if you eat all of the sauce, I had a good amount of sauce at the bottom of my bowl.

Tags: , , , , ,

About NinaLemon

I am a stay at home mom to two beautiful boys, I enjoy quilting, crafting and cooking. Lots of cooking from scratch and experimentation for health and for the safety of my peanut, tree nut and egg allergic son.

Leave a Reply

FOOD4THOUGHTNYC

Musings About Nutrition, Health, Wellness and Everything in Between

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Ellie More Or Less

Just another blog about weight loss

No 'FRIES' for 365

- My Journey: A Blog About Fitness, Nutrition, & Overall Health -

Playful and hungry

Delicious food - a playful approach!

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

my sister's pantry

Eat food... real food

Madame Jelly Belly

Weight loss (or lack thereof), good food, not so good food, recipes, fitness, dreams (about chocolate and chocolate coated goods), tips, experiences, photography, laughter, pain, health discussions, and student life.

petit4chocolatier

food, writing, life, and other things in-between

My ups & many downs in my weight loss journey!

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

L-Jay Health

Nutrition and Fitness

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

