Pumpkin Oatmeal Waffles

Pumpkin Oatmeal Waffles with mixed berries

My 3 year old, Wilson, has been on a waffle kick; every morning he wants waffles and milk for breakfast.  Perhaps it was our recent addition of eggs into the waffles, making them far more yummy, but the same old waffle gets boring and is rather nutritionally lame!  I started looking at the recipe I use, from the yellow gourmet cookbook, it calls for 1.5 sticks of butter – that is a lot of butter!  In the past I have used applesauce as a sub for oil, so I thought, “why not pumpkin”?  We are major pumpkin lovers in this house, maybe even pumpkin worshipers.  It is such a yummy squash, savory or sweet, it is awesome.  I ended up dropping the butter completely and replaced it with 1/3 cup of coconut oil and 1 cup of pumpkin puree, I also replaced some of the wheat flour with oat flour.  After making this batch of waffles, I have been on a waffle kick right along with my son!

Here is what you do:

Ingredients:

1.5 cups flour

1.5 cups oat flour (use a food processor to maker flour from rolled oats, it takes about 2 cups of rolled oats to make 1.5 cups of oat flour)

1 tablespoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1.5 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon cloves

1 tablespoon sugar

1 cup pumpkin puree

1/3 cup coconut oil, melted and cooled

1 tablespoon vanilla

3.5 cups nonfat buttermilk, shaken

3 eggs lightly beaten

Procedure:

Combine dry ingredients in a bowl

Dry ingredients

In a separate bowl combine the wet ingredients

Mix the wet into the dry and allow to rest for a minute.  The batter will be slightly thick.  Scoop batter in a heated and greased waffle iron, I like to use an ice cream scoop!  Allow the waffles to cook for a minute or two beyond when the waffle iron stops steaming.

Enjoy your waffles with syrup, berries or on their own!  These waffles freeze very well!  I let them cool on a wire rack and then put in a ziplock bag to freeze.  Reheat in the toaster!

Pumpkin Oatmeal waffles with butter and maple syrup

..and the berries again, this is my favorite way to eat them!

Each waffle has about:

110 calories, 4 grams of fat (3 saturated), 24 mg cholesterol, 180mg of Sodium, 1g of fiber, 3g of sugars, 4 g of protein, 32% of Vit A, 8% of calcium, 1% of Vit C and 6% of iron.

Tags: , , , , ,

About NinaLemon

I am a stay at home mom to two beautiful boys, I enjoy quilting, crafting and cooking. Lots of cooking from scratch and experimentation for health and for the safety of my peanut, tree nut and egg allergic son.

3 responses to “Pumpkin Oatmeal Waffles”

  1. PlantBasedDietAdventures says :

    YUMBO!!! I think I may enter the waffle kick… 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin Oatmeal Coconut Oil and Maple Syrup Waffles | My Blog - March 22, 2014

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Ellie More Or Less

Just another blog about weight loss

No 'FRIES' for 365

- My Journey: A Blog About Fitness, Nutrition, & Overall Health -

Playful and hungry

Delicious food - a playful approach!

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

my sister's pantry

Eat food... real food

Madame Jelly Belly

Weight loss (or lack thereof), good food, not so good food, recipes, fitness, dreams (about chocolate and chocolate coated goods), tips, experiences, photography, laughter, pain, health discussions, and student life.

petit4chocolatier

food, writing, life, and other things in-between

My ups & many downs in my weight loss journey!

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

L-Jay Health

Nutrition and Fitness

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

