Hummus among us

Cilantro Lime Hummus

 

Friday, I had plans to meet up with a friend and take our kids to see Alice in Wonderland, followed by a picnic in the park!  It sounded lovely, the boys would love it, we would love it – a musical, food and fresh air – what’s not to like!?!  However, Thursday night when I should have been preparing our picnic goodies I was exhausted and only thinking of bed.  I knew we had to be out of the house early, but I couldn’t bring myself to do anything, which meant Friday morning I’d need something quick, filling and tasty enough for toddlers!

Hummus to the rescue!  I had cooked a big batch of chickpeas a few days prior and had some cilantro that was beginning to wilt.

  Sad, sad cilantro looking for a home. 

I have been on this cilantro, lime cumin kick lately – why not in hummus?  I threw it together and it really was delish!  My friend and I loved it… the kids preferred Ken’s Blue Cheese dressing.  You can’t win ’em all!

Part of my picnic lunch, nom, nom, nom.

 

Ingredients:

2 cups cooked chickpeas (or 1 can rinsed and drained)

1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

juice of 1 lime (about 1.5 tbsp)

2 tbsp tahini

1 tsp cumin

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/8 tsp cayenne

1/4 tsp salt

 

Procedure:

Add chickpeas to bowl of food processor or blender.

Try to resist snacking on them before you process them…

Process for a bit, until they have a coarse texture, then add the chopped cilantro:

Process a bit more, add the remaining ingredients and process until you reach your desired texture:

About 2 cups of cilantro lime hummus

 

ENJOY!

Cilantro Lime Hummus

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About NinaLemon

I am a stay at home mom to two beautiful boys, I enjoy quilting, crafting and cooking. Lots of cooking from scratch and experimentation for health and for the safety of my peanut, tree nut and egg allergic son.

One response to “Hummus among us”

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Ellie More Or Less

Just another blog about weight loss

No 'FRIES' for 365

- My Journey: A Blog About Fitness, Nutrition, & Overall Health -

Playful and hungry

Delicious food - a playful approach!

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

my sister's pantry

Eat food... real food

Madame Jelly Belly

Weight loss (or lack thereof), good food, not so good food, recipes, fitness, dreams (about chocolate and chocolate coated goods), tips, experiences, photography, laughter, pain, health discussions, and student life.

petit4chocolatier

food, writing, life, and other things in-between

My ups & many downs in my weight loss journey!

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

L-Jay Health

Nutrition and Fitness

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

