Savory Key Lime Time

Key Lime Chickpeas with Butternut Squash and Sweet Potato over Quinoa

On a recent shopping trip, I fell in love with a bag of key limes.  They were so cute and tiny and only $1.99 for the pound, I had to have them!  I had visions of a key lime pie – one of my favorites, although I have never made one myself!  I came home and showed my husband my prize, when he informed me that he didn’t like key lime pie.  Hrmph.  I thought about making the pie and eating it all myself, but that would be a bad idea since then I would have to own up to it on my other blog, A Day in the Eats . Soooo, I had to come up with a savory key lime dish.  I still had a bunch of chickpeas in the fridge and a Butternut squash threatening to turn on me, it was time to experiment!

I decided to marinate and cook the chickpeas in a mix of lime juice, soy sauce and garlic, then tossed them with some sauted veggies and ate it all over some quinoa.  It was so good!  I love when a kitchen scramble of random ingredients is a success!

Ingredients:

3.5 cups cooked chickpeas

1/2 cup key lime juice

3/4 cup low sodium stock (chicken or veggie)

1/3 cup low sodium soy sauce

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 tbsp coconut oil (or oil of your choice)

3/4 cup red onion, thinly sliced

2.5 cups butternut squash, cubed

2 cups sweet potato, cubed

Procedure:

I juiced the fresh key limes with a fork – the little cone shaped juicer I have was too big for the limes.

Juicing these babies took some time…

Combine chickpeas, lime juice, soy sauce and garlic in a pot and allow to marinate for an hour or so.

Marinating Chickpeas

Add the chicken stock and simmer together wile you prepare the veggies.

Heat a large frying pan and add the coconut oil.  Saute onion, until lightly browned.

Onions in coconut oil, one of my favorite scents!

Add the cubed sweet potatoes and butternut squash, and cook, covered over medium low heat, stirring often.

Cook until fork tender.

Combine the chickpeas and liquid with the veggies.

Add the chickpeas and liquid to the pan

Simmer until the liquid cooks away.

Get ready to eat!

Add pepper to taste!

ENJOY!

Here is the Nutritional Information, based on 6 servings:

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About NinaLemon

I am a stay at home mom to two beautiful boys, I enjoy quilting, crafting and cooking. Lots of cooking from scratch and experimentation for health and for the safety of my peanut, tree nut and egg allergic son.

Leave a Reply

FOOD4THOUGHTNYC

Musings About Nutrition, Health, Wellness and Everything in Between

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Ellie More Or Less

Just another blog about weight loss

No 'FRIES' for 365

- My Journey: A Blog About Fitness, Nutrition, & Overall Health -

Playful and hungry

Delicious food - a playful approach!

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

my sister's pantry

Eat food... real food

Madame Jelly Belly

Weight loss (or lack thereof), good food, not so good food, recipes, fitness, dreams (about chocolate and chocolate coated goods), tips, experiences, photography, laughter, pain, health discussions, and student life.

petit4chocolatier

food, writing, life, and other things in-between

My ups & many downs in my weight loss journey!

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

L-Jay Health

Nutrition and Fitness

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

