Egg Free Chocolate Cupcakes

Egg-free Chocolate Cupcake

It has been awhile since I posted to this blog, I have been focusing on my other blog, A Day in the Eats, I really wish I could incorporate the two into one!  Is there such thing as blog merges?

Anyway… we had a birthday party to attend a few weeks ago; since my son has life threatening allergies I always bring a cupcake for him.  I don’t want him to feel left-out when the other kids are elbows deep in a sugar frenzy!  It did take a few tries before coming up with a recipe for an eggless cake that rose well and tasted divine!  I wanted to use all “normal” ingredients, but in the end I had to break down and buy the Ener-G Egg replacer.  When I bought it and saw how well it worked I was a bit annoyed with myself for waiting so long!  The stuff is awesome!

These cupcakes are moist, dense and delicious!  The base recipe is the chocolate cake my Mother always made growing up, I make a few tweaks, but in essence it is the same.

Ingredients:

1 cup flour

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup Hershey Special Dark baking cocoa (this is safe for my peanut/tree nut/egg allergic son – always check ingredients first!  Food manufacturers do change recipes and facilities often!)

1 tsp salt

1 cup boiling water

1 1/2 tsp Ener-G Egg Replacer plus 2 tbsp water

1 tbsp vanilla extract

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 stick of unsalted butter

Procedure:

Sift together the flour, sugar, cocoa and salt.

Sift together dry ingredients

Push the dry ingredients to the sides of the bowl, forming a well in the center.  Cut up butter and place in the center well.

Make “well” and add butter to the well.

Add boiling water over butter and mix with wire whisk, scraping the sides as you go.

Whisk Ener-G Egg Replacer and warm water together until foamy, then add to batter with vanilla, baking powder and baking soda. Mix until combined.

Mix until combined, batter will be thin.

Scoop into paper lined or greased muffin tins. filling about 3/4 of the way.  I like to use an ice cream scoop to keep things neat.

Fill muffing tins about 3/4 of the way full

Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes, if you wish to make this as a cake pour into a prepared 8″ pan and bake for 20-25 minutes.

Egg Free Cupcakes

Frost as desired and enjoy!  I like to use a basic chocolate frosting (using Hershey Regular Baking Cocoa), my Mother always made a Mocha Frosting.

Egg Free Chocolate Cake

 

I should probably mention here that I am not paid to endorse any of the products I use, they are just the ones that work for us! 🙂

Tags: , , , , , ,

About NinaLemon

I am a stay at home mom to two beautiful boys, I enjoy quilting, crafting and cooking. Lots of cooking from scratch and experimentation for health and for the safety of my peanut, tree nut and egg allergic son.

5 responses to “Egg Free Chocolate Cupcakes”

  1. petit4chocolatier says :

    Excellent recipe! They look perfectly scrumptious too!!

  2. PlantBasedDietAdventures says :

    YUM!!
    And I can think of round about ways to merge your blogs but nothing easy and direct….though you could do a search for this topic on WordPress and see what comes up!

  3. petit4chocolatier says :

    I really love these cupcakes and placed the link on my reblog page : )
    I had forgotten about them yesterday and made a Hershey’s cupcake recipe. I am so disappointed I didn’t make this recipe. Love the fact that there are no eggs.

    • NinaLemon says :

      Thank you so much! I am glad you like the cupcakes, they are a favorite in our house too. My son has asked me to make “Angry Bird” chocolate cupcakes this week ….we’ll see how that goes! A pastry chef, I am not, LOL!

Leave a Reply

FOOD4THOUGHTNYC

Musings About Nutrition, Health, Wellness and Everything in Between

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Ellie More Or Less

Just another blog about weight loss

No 'FRIES' for 365

- My Journey: A Blog About Fitness, Nutrition, & Overall Health -

Playful and hungry

Delicious food - a playful approach!

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

my sister's pantry

Eat food... real food

Madame Jelly Belly

Weight loss (or lack thereof), good food, not so good food, recipes, fitness, dreams (about chocolate and chocolate coated goods), tips, experiences, photography, laughter, pain, health discussions, and student life.

petit4chocolatier

food, writing, life, and other things in-between

My ups & many downs in my weight loss journey!

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

L-Jay Health

Nutrition and Fitness

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

