Portabella Pizza Heaven

Portabella Pizza

 

I have had these portabellas hanging out in my fridge for a few days, calling to me.  I love a good grilled mushroom, the smoky meatiness is just heaven, but the grilled part is a problem for me.  I have a *small* issue with fire, it scares the crapola out of me!  I like a nice campfire, and will sit semi-relaxed while scanning the canopy to make sure there are no low hanging branches to catch fire.  I love fireworks, but when local yokels set them off in the backyard I want to run screaming into a tub of water.  My husband has been threatening to teach me once and for all how to use the grill, and since we replaced our gas grill with a charcoal grill (meaning less dangerous in my mind since it lacks the pressurized tank of flammable liquid), I was accepting of the idea.  …but I just seem to always be busy with the kids when it comes to grill time…  I am totally OK with having my husband be the grill man, except for nights when he is working late and I want a grilled portabella…

Tonight was one of those nights, being the Brownie Drop-Out that I am , I came up with an alternate plan ….who says only true scouts are always prepared!  I popped those babies on a broiling pan and made some mini pizzas!    I loaded them up with fresh herbs and tomatoes from the garden, topped with a bit of cheese and YUM!

Ingredients:

2 Portabella Caps

1 cup grape tomatoes, halved

1 tablespoon fresh basil, finely chopped

1 teaspoon fresh rosemary, finely chopped

2-3 cloves garlic, minced

2 teaspoon olive oil

2 tablespoons Italian blend cheese,  shredded

salt and pepper

 

Procedure:

This is a quick cooking dinner, to avoid burned caps prepare the herbs and tomatoes before you start broiling the mushrooms caps.

Prepare your herbs and tomatoes.

Lightly brush washed mushroom caps with 1 teaspoon oil (about 1/2 tsp each cap), sprinkle with S&P and set under the broiler for about 4 minutes.

Brush lightly with olive oil and sprinkle with a bit of salt and pepper

 

Meainwhile, add the remaining 1 tsp of olive oil to a hot skillet.  Briefly toss the garlic and fresh herbs, until fragrant.  It will be less than 1 minute.  Add the halved tomatoes and toss to coat. Remove from heat.

Briefly saute herbs, add tomatoes and toss to coat.

Divide the tomato and herb mixture between the two caps and place back under the broiler for 2 minutes.

Top the caps with tomato and herb mixture and return to the broiler

You can either serve the caps at this point without the cheese:

Broiled cap stuffed with tomatoes and herbs

Or divide the cheese between the two caps and broil for another minute or two.

Portabella Pizzas

 

Enjoy!

 

Here is the nutrition report, 2 caps is one serving:

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About NinaLemon

I am a stay at home mom to two beautiful boys, I enjoy quilting, crafting and cooking. Lots of cooking from scratch and experimentation for health and for the safety of my peanut, tree nut and egg allergic son.

4 responses to “Portabella Pizza Heaven”

  1. hungryandfit says :

    Looks divine! Did this not too long ago, soooo good

  2. petit4chocolatier says :

    These look so delicious!!

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Ellie More Or Less

Just another blog about weight loss

No 'FRIES' for 365

- My Journey: A Blog About Fitness, Nutrition, & Overall Health -

Playful and hungry

Delicious food - a playful approach!

Melanie daPonte, Vegan Personal Chef

A Passion For Food...A Passion For Flavor!

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

my sister's pantry

Eat food... real food

Madame Jelly Belly

Weight loss (or lack thereof), good food, not so good food, recipes, fitness, dreams (about chocolate and chocolate coated goods), tips, experiences, photography, laughter, pain, health discussions, and student life.

petit4chocolatier

food, writing, life, and other things in-between

My ups & many downs in my weight loss journey!

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

L-Jay Health

Nutrition and Fitness

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

